Indian National Finals Rodeo

Indian National Finals Rodeo

Hall of Fame

Dean C. Jackson

Dean Jackson

Dean earned a Bachelor of Science degree in social work from Oklahoma State University as well as an education degree and returned to the Navajo Nation to begin a teaching and coaching career. In 1959, Dean married his wife Stephanie McPherson and they had five children.

Dean worked to develop Navajo Community College and worked to secure funding for what became the Dine College facility. In addition, Dean was extremely influential with the Tribal College Acts that now give control and authority to Indian tribes for higher education opportunities. Dean was named President of Navajo Community College and held the position for 10 years. Dean continued to develop his educational leadership philosophy at the graduate level and implement his educational model, the Dine Philosophy of Learning. Dean then became the Superintendent of the Chine School District and held that position until his untimely death in 1992.

Dean had a genuine love of horses and rodeo. In addition to encouraging Navajo youth to become educated, Dean also assisted in the development of the sport of Indian rodeo on the Navajo reservation and across Indian Country. Dean was one of the founding organizers of the All-Indian Rodeo Cowboys Association and the Indian Nationals Finals Rodeo. Dean was active in rodeo up until his death.

2023 Inductees

  • Victor Begay
  • Marty Jandreau
  • Chuck Morgan
  • Marvin Yellowbird

2022 Inductees

  • Todd Buffalo
  • Tammy Daswood
  • Harlan Gunville
  • Ted Hoyt
  • Robbie Inman

2021 Inductees

  • Dale Bird
  • Karl Dennison
  • Jim Gladstone
  • James Hunt Jr.
  • Lynn Mcquire

2019 Inductees

  • Eugene Creighton
  • Howard Edmundson
  • Allen Fisher
  • Pam Hall
  • Daniel Susan

2018 Inductees


2017 Inductees

  • Geneve Tsouhlarkis
  • Spike Guardipee
  • Britt Givens
  • Bob (Tonto) Gottfriedson
  • Melvin Joseph
  • Kenton Randall

2016 Inductees

  • Levi Black Water Sr.
  • Ed Holyan
  • Julius Y Begay
  • Traci Vaile
  • Dee Keener

2015 Inductees

  • Dave Best
  • Sam Bird
  • Kelvin Fox
  • Carole Jackson-Holyan
  • Jerry Small

2014 Inductees

2013 Inductees

2012 Inductees

2011 Inaugural Inductees