Indian National Finals Rodeo

Indian National Finals Rodeo

Hall of Fame

Pete Fredericks

Pete Fredericks

His Indian name is "Charging Eagle", and he was North Dakota’s first National High School Rodeo champion. In 1953, Pete won the National High School Rodeo Bareback Championship, and he went on to win the titles for saddle bronc and all around in 1955.

At Dickinson State Teachers College Pete helped start the college rodeo team. In its first year, the team won nearly everything, and Fredericks became a two-time National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association finalist. He was also runner-up in the saddle bronc and all-around categories in 1957.

As a professional, Pete competed in and won some of the country’s biggest rodeos, qualifying for the National Finals in 1961 and placing 4th in bareback and 15th in the world all-around standings. He again qualified for the National Finals in 1962 and 1964. In 1976, Pete became a founding member of the Indian National Finals Rodeo Commission and continues to serve on it.

Pete Fredericks

Pete competing on Sorrel Top
in San Antonio 1962.

2021 Inductees

  • Dale Bird
  • Karl Dennison
  • Jim Gladstone
  • James Hunt Jr.
  • Lynn Mcquire

2019 Inductees

  • Eugene Creighton
  • Howard Edmundson
  • Allen Fisher
  • Pam Hall
  • Daniel Susan

2018 Inductees


2017 Inductees

  • Geneve Tsouhlarkis
  • Spike Guardipee
  • Britt Givens
  • Bob (Tonto) Gottfriedson
  • Melvin Joseph
  • Kenton Randall

2016 Inductees

  • Levi Black Water Sr.
  • Ed Holyan
  • Julius Y Begay
  • Traci Vaile
  • Dee Keener

2015 Inductees

  • Dave Best
  • Sam Bird
  • Kelvin Fox
  • Carole Jackson-Holyan
  • Jerry Small

2014 Inductees

2013 Inductees

2012 Inductees

2011 Inaugural Inductees