Indian National Finals Rodeo

Indian National Finals Rodeo

Hall of Fame

CL Johnson

2014 INFR Hall of Fame

CL Johnson

CL a member of the Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe.  C.L. started competing in rodeos at age 7. In 1979 he won the Crow Fair bull riding at 15 years old, 1982 he won the South Dakota State High School Rodeo bull riding championship, 1984 he joined the P.R.C.A. and in 1985 he won the INFR Bull Riding Championship in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He was a member of the Bull Riders Only where he won, and competed against some of the best bull riders in the country. C.L. was fearless at life, and never thought twice about getting on any bull, including Bodacious. CL let his riding do the talking. “I’m not trying to be cocky, but I am fairly good at it.” In November of 1988 he married Leslie Clifford, and in 1992 they welcomed a daughter, Josey. C.L. was an excellent horseman, and in 1989 he began his stuntman career in the movie “Dances with Wolves.” He began training his own stunt horses, in which he used in over 20 films/movies/T.V. shows. In 1999 he was inducted into the Stuntman Hall of Fame. He was proud of his heritage, he was known as the bull riding Lakota Stuntman from South Dakota. C.L. died on January 9, 1999 in a car accident. C.L. is missed, but never forgotten by his family, friends, and all those whose lives he touched.

2023 Inductees

  • Victor Begay
  • Marty Jandreau
  • Chuck Morgan
  • Marvin Yellowbird

2022 Inductees

  • Todd Buffalo
  • Tammy Daswood
  • Harlan Gunville
  • Ted Hoyt
  • Robbie Inman

2021 Inductees

  • Dale Bird
  • Karl Dennison
  • Jim Gladstone
  • James Hunt Jr.
  • Lynn Mcquire

2019 Inductees

  • Eugene Creighton
  • Howard Edmundson
  • Allen Fisher
  • Pam Hall
  • Daniel Susan

2018 Inductees


2017 Inductees

  • Geneve Tsouhlarkis
  • Spike Guardipee
  • Britt Givens
  • Bob (Tonto) Gottfriedson
  • Melvin Joseph
  • Kenton Randall

2016 Inductees

  • Levi Black Water Sr.
  • Ed Holyan
  • Julius Y Begay
  • Traci Vaile
  • Dee Keener

2015 Inductees

  • Dave Best
  • Sam Bird
  • Kelvin Fox
  • Carole Jackson-Holyan
  • Jerry Small

2014 Inductees

2013 Inductees

2012 Inductees

2011 Inaugural Inductees