Indian National Finals Rodeo

Indian National Finals Rodeo

Hall of Fame

Lyle Cochran

2014 INFR Hall of Fame

Lyle was born in 1945 and raised on the Fort Belknap Indian Reservation in Montana, an Assiniboine named (Wamni Wast’e), and meaning Good Eagle; and was raised by his grandparents Roy and Rose Long Knife. Lyle has been involved in Rodeo for over 50 years. In 1976, Lyle was the 1st All Around INFR Champion and 1st Team Roper Champion with Sam Bird. Lyle contributes his success, to his family, friends, fans and most important the outstanding horses that he has been able to ride though out his career. Lyle says, “He has always felt like he was on one of the best horses in the arena.” His fine horses have helped him win championships in the UIRA, IRCA, NRA, MPRA, PRCA and various Team Roping Associations. Lyle has won 47 saddles, several hundred buckles, trophies’ and numerous awards throughout his career. Lyle wants to give a special thanks to his wife, Marty, for always standing by his side and working so hard to help him with his success. Lyle wants to mention that he has met so many great and dedicated cowboys and cowgirls thru the years – Lyle takes his hat off, to all the great cowboys that he lived, the Sport of Rodeo with.

Lyle Cochran

2023 Inductees

  • Victor Begay
  • Marty Jandreau
  • Chuck Morgan
  • Marvin Yellowbird

2022 Inductees

  • Todd Buffalo
  • Tammy Daswood
  • Harlan Gunville
  • Ted Hoyt
  • Robbie Inman

2021 Inductees

  • Dale Bird
  • Karl Dennison
  • Jim Gladstone
  • James Hunt Jr.
  • Lynn Mcquire

2019 Inductees

  • Eugene Creighton
  • Howard Edmundson
  • Allen Fisher
  • Pam Hall
  • Daniel Susan

2018 Inductees


2017 Inductees

  • Geneve Tsouhlarkis
  • Spike Guardipee
  • Britt Givens
  • Bob (Tonto) Gottfriedson
  • Melvin Joseph
  • Kenton Randall

2016 Inductees

  • Levi Black Water Sr.
  • Ed Holyan
  • Julius Y Begay
  • Traci Vaile
  • Dee Keener

2015 Inductees

  • Dave Best
  • Sam Bird
  • Kelvin Fox
  • Carole Jackson-Holyan
  • Jerry Small

2014 Inductees

2013 Inductees

2012 Inductees

2011 Inaugural Inductees