Indian National Finals Rodeo

Indian National Finals Rodeo

Hall of Fame

John Colliflower

Raised in the Fort Belknap Indian reservation on the John and Madeline Colliflower cattle ranch with seven brothers and sisters, John started his Western lifestyle very young.  As a young man, John was a member of the RCA (present-day PRCA) as a bareback and saddle bronc rider, competing at rodeos such as Cheyenne Frontier Days and The Pendleton Round-Up.

John Colliflower - Hall of Fame His rodeo career was interrupted by the Vietnam War, where he served honorably as a tank commander in the 1st Cavalry. Following his discharge, he met and married the love of his life, Sybil Sangrey and together had four sons. He began rodeoing again as a member of the PRCA and competed at the first annual INFR.

John is a three time INFR World Champion, winning the Steer Wrestling twice in 1988 and 1990, as well as the All-Around Cowboy title in 1989 working both ends of the arena as a saddle bronc rider and steer wrestler. During his illustrious rodeo career, John won the GPIRA and UIRA several times and qualified for the INFR virtually every year until injury forced him into semi-retirement in the late 90's.

John Colliflower - Hall of Fame

Today, John is regarded for his world class bulldogging horses and his hazing. His horses, former INFR Horse(s) of the Year, have helped several cowboys earn their own INFR titles as Steer Wrestling and All-Around Champions. He spends his days on his own ranch, The Lazy JS, assisting local youth in their pursuit of rodeo careers. As a teacher, he has helped all four of his sons and grandchildren qualify numerous times to the INFR (two are World Champions, Lyman and Jesse). A role model and mentor for the youth, he is always helping the younger generation with advice or a mount on one of his horses.

John Colliflower - Hall of Fame

2023 Inductees

  • Victor Begay
  • Marty Jandreau
  • Chuck Morgan
  • Marvin Yellowbird

2022 Inductees

  • Todd Buffalo
  • Tammy Daswood
  • Harlan Gunville
  • Ted Hoyt
  • Robbie Inman

2021 Inductees

  • Dale Bird
  • Karl Dennison
  • Jim Gladstone
  • James Hunt Jr.
  • Lynn Mcquire

2019 Inductees

  • Eugene Creighton
  • Howard Edmundson
  • Allen Fisher
  • Pam Hall
  • Daniel Susan

2018 Inductees


2017 Inductees

  • Geneve Tsouhlarkis
  • Spike Guardipee
  • Britt Givens
  • Bob (Tonto) Gottfriedson
  • Melvin Joseph
  • Kenton Randall

2016 Inductees

  • Levi Black Water Sr.
  • Ed Holyan
  • Julius Y Begay
  • Traci Vaile
  • Dee Keener

2015 Inductees

  • Dave Best
  • Sam Bird
  • Kelvin Fox
  • Carole Jackson-Holyan
  • Jerry Small

2014 Inductees

2013 Inductees

2012 Inductees

2011 Inaugural Inductees